top of page

Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize

The relaunched Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize has announced its 2024 shortlist. The award is made in the name of the Poldark author, who hailed from Perranporth. This is the first year entry has been extended beyond Cornwall, with an emphasis on a powerful sense of place.

The six shortlisted works are: Cuddy by Benjamin Myers; The Whalebone Theatre by Joanna Quinn; The Midnight News by by Jo Baker; Nothing Left to Fear from Hell by Alan Warner; Music in the Dark by Sally Magnusson; and A Wild and True Relation by Kim Sherwood.

The panel of judges include Louis de Bernieres, master of the contemporary historical novel, award-winning novelist and poet AK Blakemore.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony at the Royal Cornwall Museum, Truro, on March 22.

bottom of page